DRAFT 23 Sept 2016



White House Arctic Science Ministerial

September 28, 2016 Eisenhower Executive Office Building Indian Treaty Room

Draft Agenda

7:30-8:15	Delegation Arrival Refreshments served at the Indian Treaty Room
8:20-8:50	Ministers' Photos
9:00-9:30	Opening Session: Welcome, Introductions & Introductory Remarks Dr. John Holdren, Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy and the Assistant to the President for Science and Technology – Chair Dr. France Córdova, Director of the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) – Vice-Chair The Honorable Francis Ulmer, Chair of the U.S. Arctic Research Commission (USARC) – Vice-Chair
9:30-10:45	Session 1: Identifying Arctic-Science Challenges and their Regional and Global Implications Co-chairs: Dr. France Córdova & Dr. Alexander Frolov, Head of Roshydromet, Russia Keynote Presentation: Dr. Brendan Kelly, University of Alaska Fairbanks Rapporteur: Dr. Kelly Falkner, Director of the Division of Polar Programs, NSF Minister Statements: Germany, Switzerland, Sweden, Netherlands, Spain, Russia Discussion
10:45-11:00	Morning Coffee Break
11:00-12:15	Session 2: Strengthening and Integrating Arctic Observations and Data-Sharing Co-chairs: Dr. Kathryn Sullivan, Administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) & Mr. Torbjørn Røe Isaksen, Minister of Education and Research, Norway Keynote Presentation: Dr. David Grimes, President, World Meteorological Organization Rapporteur: Dr. Jeremy Mathis, NOAA Minister Statements: UK, Japan, EU, Italy, Norway, Republic of Korea Discussion
12:15-12:20	Joint Statement Overview and Signing Process Ambassador Mark Brzezinski, Executive Director of the Arctic Executive Steering Committee
12:20-1:15	Lunch & Signing of the Joint Statement

DRAFT 23 Sept 2016

1:15-2:30	Session 3: Empowering Citizens through Science Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Education Leveraging Arctic Science Co-chairs: Dr. John Holdren & Ms. Sanni Kaisa Grahn-Laasonen, Minister of Education and Culture, Finland Keynote Presentation: Dr. Erin Freeland Ballantyne, Dechinta Centre for Research and Learning, Canada Rapporteur: Dr. Mike Kuperberg, U.S. Global Climate Research Program Minister Statements: Finland, Poland, Singapore, Faroe Islands, Greenland, Canada Discussion
2:30-2:45	Afternoon Coffee Break
2:45-4:00	Session 4: Applying Expanded Scientific Understanding of the Arctic to Build Regional Resilience and Shape Global Responses Co-chairs: The Honorable Francis Ulmer & Dr. Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science, Canada Keynote Presentation: Dr. Johan Rockström, Executive Director, Stockholm Resilience Center, Stockholm University Rapporteur: Dr. John Farrell, USARC Minister Statements: Denmark, China, New Zealand, India, Iceland, France Discussion
4:00-5:15	Plenary Discussion Session Summaries by Co-Chairs
5:15-5:30	Summary and Closing Remarks Dr. John Holdren